NASCAR at Bristol live race updates, results, highlights from Food City Dirt Race

Last year, NASCAR ran just its second Cup Series Bristol dirt race, and it produced plenty of chaos.

Several drivers in the Food City Dirt Race crashed out, including Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell. In the end, Joey Logano won the race, with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finishing second and Denny Hamlin placing third.

Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race will again be on the clay at Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tenn.

Logano is certainly hoping to rekindle some of that magic from last year’s race. He narrowly lost in overtime a week ago at Martinsville, when William Byron claimed his second checkered flag of the season. Logano is still searching for his first win of the year.

The Sporting News will be tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights for the NASCAR Cup Series race at Bristol on Sunday. Follow below for complete results from the Food City Dirt Race. All times Eastern Standard.

MORE: Watch NASCAR Cup Series races live with fuboTV (free trial)

NASCAR at Bristol live updates, highlights from Food City Dirt Race

7:17 pm: Custer dropped two laps by pitting early, but decided not to pit on the mandatory stop, meaning he’ll be on the wave around to move to just one lap down. Almirola will also have a wave around.

7:10 pm: The caution flag is brought out at lap 15 as Aric Almirola heads to pit road to get his grille cleaned. The Fox broadcast reported that NASCAR will bring out cautions if the grilles of cars get too filled with dirt, which has been the case with both Custer and Almirola heading to pit road to get cleaned. All cars will now do the same.

7:09 pm: Cole Custer, who started the race in pole position, is making the first pit stop of the night under green, coming just 13 laps into the race.

7:08 pm: Chase Briscoe and Christopher Bell are providing a close fight for the top spot through 10 laps. Briscoe is narrowly leading the race by just under a half-second.

7:07 pm: Bubba Wallace has made a lot of progress since the start of the race, riding outside to go up from 22nd to 17th already in the first six laps of the race.

7:05 pm: There’s the green flag, and the race at Bristol is underway.

6:58 pm: Max Lucado gives the command to drivers to start their engines.

6:51 pm: Pre-race ceremonies beginning with the invocation and the national anthem.

What time does the NASCAR race start today?

  • Date: Sunday, April 17
  • Time: 7:04 pm ET

Sunday’s race at Bristol is scheduled to start at 7:04 pm ET on Sunday. It had originally been scheduled to begin at 7:14 pm, but it has since been moved up 10 minutes because of the threat of rain.

NASCAR LINEUP AT BRISTOL: Starting order, pole

What channel is NASCAR on today?

The Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway will be carried out by Fox in the US and TSN in Canada. Last Sunday’s race in Martinsville, Va., Was carried by FS1, but the next two races will be carried by Fox before the series returns to FS1 on May 1.

Mike Joy will be on the call for lap-by-lap action, with Clint Bowyer and Darrell Waltrip joining him in the booth for analysis. Fox has used rotating analysts in 2021 after Jeff Gordon left to work for Hendrick Motorsports.

Fans who have cut the cord on cable can also find the race on Fox Sports Go or fuboTV, which offers a free trial.

NASCAR lineup at Bristol

Here is the complete starting lineup for the NASCAR Cup Series race in Bristol on Sunday:

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1. Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
2. Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
3. Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
4. Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
5. Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6. Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
7. Ty Dillon 42 Petty GMS Motorsports
8. Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
9. Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
10. Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
11. Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
12. Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13. Kurt Busch 45 23XI Racing
14. Erik Jones 43 Petty GMS Motorsports
15. Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
17. Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
18. Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
19. William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
20. Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
21. Daniel Suarez 99 TrackHouse Racing
22. Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
23. Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
24. Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
25. Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
26. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
27. Justin Allgaier 77 Spire Motorsports
28. Noah Gragson 16 Kaulig Racing
29. JJ Yeley 15 Rick Ware Racing
30. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
31. Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
32. Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
33. Ross Chastain 1 TrackHouse Racing
34. Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
35. Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
36. Josh Williams 78 Live Fast Motorsports

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.